Felted yarn

As I haven’t bought any wool tops or merino yet, I tried felting yarn at home. I have a stash of very old Rowan wool – so old, in fact, that I can pull lengths of wool off without needing scissors. As it obviously wouldn’t be any use for knitting, I thought it would be fine to use it in felting experiments.

Getting the yarn to felt took longer than the wool tops or merino. I’m not sure whether this is because there’s less surface area to felt, or whether the wool has been treated in some way to prevent it from felting or bobbling.

Felting it in a grid resulted in a woven tweed effect (below), which I quite like.

Felted yarn grid
Felted yarn grid

Felting the yarn in the shape of a star, or flower, was less successful. My ever-supportive partner said it looked ‘like something you’d find if you lifted up the rug when you were hoovering’. Huh! As if he ever hoovers…

Felted yarn web
'Like something you'd find under the rug when hoovering'

Maybe it would look better when dry-felted with an embellisher onto something else? I’ll have to think about it.

Leave a Reply

