Carding with dog brushes

I’ve been thinking about buying some hand carders for blending wool and merino tops for more subtle colours. I have only a small amount of wool so far, as I’m still experimenting, but most carders I’ve seen seem to be around £30-40.

My tutor at Morley College mentioned that dog-grooming brushes could be a cheap alternative for beginners. So yesterday I bought a couple of ‘soft pin slickers for fine/medium coats’ from Pets at Home for £4.99 each. The size of the brush area is around 10 x 7cm, so it’s about half the area of a normal carder – but with the small quantities I’m carding at the moment, it’s not going to make that much difference. And the rolags they produce are fine.

dog brushes

One thought on “Carding with dog brushes”

Leave a Reply

