South West Jumble review

I did my first South West Jumble yesterday. It’s held in Tooting Tram & Social, a popular music pub, so I was expecting something a bit grungy (with apologies to all those pristine music pubs out there!).  But, as you can see from the photo (eat your heart out Martin Parr!), it’s an interesting space,with some interesting wallpaper, an eclectic mix of fixtures and fittings, and random seating. The stalls were split between the ground floor, where the bar was, and the upper gallery, where I was. The roof is partly glazed with glass, which means the whole space feels quite light and airy. One quibble, however – the floor was very sticky. Presumably Saturday night is pretty busy, but it did seem in places as if the floor had been washed with beer!

The organisers were friendly, and the stalls were a mix of interesting vintage/second-hand and the usual crafts, cakes and jewellery. Visitors contained a higher proportion of men than usual, often as half of a couple, but also, unusually, in groups. Maybe it’s because the pub had live music throughout the afternoon – a series of earnest young men with guitars, as far as I could hear up on the gallery. Whatever the reason, they showed particular interest in my new line of items made from laminated pilots’ charts, so I think I need to expand those.

Overall, however, it was quite quiet – I guess the downpour outside that started mid-afternoon and persisted the rest of the day didn’t help. Still, with the stall only costing £5 I didn’t need to sell much to cover my costs and make a small profit. Plus I managed to hand out some leaflets about Makerhood and talk to other makers about the forthcoming meetings.

Leave a Reply

