Double dip shibori

So far I’ve just tied, stitched or clamped the fabric and left it in the indigo vat for around 10 minutes or so.

Last week I tried a double dip. I clamped two circular coasters, one on each side of the fabric, together, and put the sample in the indigo for five minutes. When I took it out and removed the clamps, I had a white circle on a blue background. I then tied the fabric to a piece of drainpipe, wound paper string around it, and scrunched it together at one end of the pipe. Then I put it back in the indigo for about eight minutes.

The result (above) looks like a moon with fine drifts of cloud. I was surprised to see how much of the original white circle remained. I expected there to be some fine white lines across the original circle, but that the rest of it would have been dyed a paler blue. Perhaps this is because the scrunching prevents more of the cloth being exposed to the dye – if I had tied the fabric and left it flat, there may have been less white.

The sample below wasn’t a double dip, but a stitched sample using oversewing rather than running stitch. The marks at the top, which  are more delicate, are the first ones I stitched: I sewed every stitch individually. As I went on, I sort of rolled the stitches around the fabric, which made it much quicker, as I could do several stitches at once. But the marks are less delicate.

And, interestingly, the marks on the two sides of the cloth look slightly different – the other side is below.

 

 

Leave a Reply

