End of term

Not just the end of term, but the end of year at Morley College. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed three terms of making paste grain papers, felt and baskets, doing hand and machine embroidery, embellishing and shibori dyeing with indigo, knitting with paper string, plastic bags and enamelled wire, with a few forays into heat transfer printing and constructing bowls from pelmet Vilene. I don’t know what I’m going to do with my Wednesday evenings from now on!

Our tutor on the creative and experimental textiles course, Debby Brown, was great. She would demonstrate basic techniques, then left us to experiment for ourselves, though she was always on hand to answer queries. She says that this “loose” approach doesn’t work for everyone, but given the number of students who signed up for all three terms, it was clearly popular with our group. Although she would tell us outright if something wouldn’t work or could be dangerous (what not to put in the heat press!), many times she would simply say, “Try it and see”. After all, it is supposed to be an experimental textiles course!

So what next? Well, I’m hoping to enrol on the textiles intermediate workshop at Morley, which starts in September and runs for a whole day every Tuesday. Quite a luxury to be able to spend a whole day working on textiles. But now I have the bug I can’t stop!

And over the summer I will continue working on projects I’ve started in shibori and felt. I’m also doing a lot of work for Makerhood, which is due to launch its website imminently, so you may soon be able to buy some of my products online!

4 thoughts on “End of term”

  1. Hi Kim
    …..will miss your comments…..have a nice summer !!
    you certainly did a lot…..and i could learn from you!!!
    Silvia from Turkey

  2. Hi Silvia,

    Glad you’ve enjoyed reading about my experiments. Don’t worry – I’ll still post updates on what I’m doing over the summer! And maybe you should start your own blog! 😉

    Kim
    x

  3. Nicola – I enjoy reading about yours! I really admire Lisa Klakulak’s work – and I look forward to seeing your work combining felt and machine embroidery! x

Leave a Reply

