Brushing up my sewing skills

The beauty of doing an experimental and creative textiles course is that you don’t need to be able to sew (if you don’t count machine embroidery!). I’ve managed to get through three terms of dyeing, weaving, making felt and knitting without having to go near a sewing machine.

However, I’ve now got a pile of shibori samples that I’d like to turn into something practical, so it was time to blow the dust off my mum’s (ancient but very solid) Singer and try to remember my needlework lessons from school.

Luckily, these days, you can find online instructions for how to do practically anything. So after ironing some interfacing on the other side of the calico to add a bit of body, I followed this tutorial on how to make a lined zippered pouch. For the lining I used a remnant I picked up in the furnishing fabrics department from John Lewis.

It was surprisingly easy to do, though I was distracted halfway through by someone trying to attack Rupert Murdoch with a shaving foam pie on TV! The shibori spider webs on the sample weren’t lined up straight to start with, so the pattern on the bag isn’t regular. But I’m still pleased with it!

Shibori zip pouch

3 thoughts on “Brushing up my sewing skills”

  1. Hi Kim
    I am impressed ….. it is not easy to put zip’s in a bag and you did it very, very neat !!! well done !!
    looking forward to what you are doing next !!! by the way, did R.M. get his shave…… sorry, joke !!
    Silvia …still very hot here

Leave a Reply

