Coiling from Sri Lanka and Senegal

My attempts at making coiled baskets last year weren’t entirely successful – more practice needed! But over the summer I came across a couple of different examples of coiling, which I thought I’d share.

In Sri Lanka I bought some very simple mats made from coiled and dyed strips of newspaper, presumably held together with glue. There were also some lovely bowls made using the same materials, but I thought these might not survive the flight back.

And in Brixton, a new shop – whose name I can’t remember – has just opened up in oh-so-trendy Brixton Village, selling items from West Africa, India and Latin America. They include some amazing coiled pots, made from bundles of grass held together with recycled plastic straps. Interestingly, they appear not to use the “double wrap” to hold the coils together, but to pass the plastic strap through a few of the strands of glass in the previous coil instead.

Leave a Reply

