Audley Harrison’s shirt

Not being a sports fan, I had no idea who Audley Harrison was until he appeared in the latest series of Strictly Come Dancing. If you don’t know either, he’s a boxer who was the first British fighter to win an Olympic gold medal in the super heavyweight category (at Sydney in 2000). Oh, and he has size 17 feet, which is a bit of a drawback in a dancing competition – as he is discovering.

But I digress. To return to the point, in Saturday’s bout competition, Audley was wearing a very striking shirt. I couldn’t find a still photo on the BBC website – but you can see it  in the video below. So I thought I’d try to recreate a similar effect in felt.

 

I covered a piece of undyed muslin in slightly off-white merino, then put some plastic oval-shaped resists on top. I covered these with a layer of orange merino and wetted, rubbed and rolled. Then I fulled it against a washboard until the muslin was suitably wrinkled, and cut out the plastic resists.

I think this would make an interesting scarf, especially with some strands of beads at the ends (as on Audley’s shoulders).

Sadly, his groovy shirt didn’t help Audley dance any better. He came second from bottom, and was only saved from oblivion by Nancy and Anton being voted off.

2 thoughts on “Audley Harrison’s shirt”

    1. Chrissie – I’m pretty sure he was wearing a shirt, not a sweater. It just gave me the idea of trying to recreate a cut-out effect in felt rather than (presumably) cotton or Lycra.

      Although I used the same colours of orange and white in my initial sample, I don’t think anyone could seriously mistake a piece of my felt for a swatch of the original fabric! 🙂

Leave a Reply

