More screenprinting with shibori

Yesterday at Morley College I continued with some of the experiments I started at the end of last term, printing with an open screen on fabric that had been stitched, pleated, or folded in some way, based on shibori techniques. I wanted to try some different resist methods as well as experimenting with two colours.

First, I repeated the pleating method I used last term, but with two colours. I started with pale blue and when it had dried shifted the pleats a bit (I also restitched a couple of lines) before overprinting in red. The red wasn’t quite the colour I had in mind: I wanted a deep scarlet, but it turned out more of a claret. Great if you’re a fan of Aston Villa or West Ham, I suppose:

Next up was a piece of linen stitched with circles of different sizes, with the threads pulled tight and tied off. Some of the “puffs” were above the fabric; others were below:

Here’s the result after printing the first colour:

Then I stitched some more circles and printed with a second colour:

I also tried using a piece of cartridge paper as a resist, cutting slits and pulling sections of fabric through. It looked a bit like a mushroom farm:

I did this twice with different colours, but there were still huge gaps. I need to make the slits closer together, repeat it more times, or pull more fabric through:

Then I repeated the pleating experiment but with far more lines of stitching much closer together. I decided to use only one colour on this from the outset, so I chose the darker blue. I love the marks this has created, and I think the red thread I used for the stitching looks really effective, so I’ll probably leave it in rather than removing it:

Finally, as the indigo vat was charged up, I also did a more conventional piece of stitched shibori dyed with indigo:

Quite a busy day, then – no wonder I was completely exhausted when I got home!

10 thoughts on “More screenprinting with shibori”

  1. Kim – I love the idea. I think if you had used different shades of the same colour, rather than the extreme contrast between red and blue, you might get a some really interesting results.

    BTWyYour last bit of shibori looks really professional. It’s not a technique I have really mastered.

  2. Thanks Hilary. I did think about using pale blue and dark blue, but I wasn’t sure if the dark blue would simply blot out the pale blue.

    On the “starburst” sample you can see that overprinting the blue with red did produce a third colour (though not the rich purple I was hoping for) – I was worried that if I used dark blue none of the pale blue would show underneath.

    Just emphasises how much I have to learn about how colours interact when printing! 🙂

  3. Hi Kim, I’ve just come across your site and I love your shibori work! It’s great to see the work in progress aspect too. The bottom sample of shibori here is beautiful! How do you get the repeat pattern like that – is it just a case of folding and stitching through all the layers or something more complicated?
    Sadie 🙂

    1. Thanks Sadie!

      You can probably see from the pattern that it’s based on interlocking circles, which I drew onto the fabric first. Then each of the “petals” is outlined by folding the outlines together, like a pair of lips, and stitching through four layers of fabric. I think the technique is called awase nui.

Leave a Reply

