Felt samples

One thing I am learning the hard way is that it’s often best to experiment with small samples first rather than rushing in with all guns blazing on my latest “brilliant” idea.

Sometimes it does work, but sometimes I end up wasting a lot of time and/or materials when my process or technique throws up something I hadn’t thought of.  It’s not a total waste – I do learn a lot from my mistakes! But it might be less wasteful to learn on a smaller scale. 😉

It’s difficult to restrain my natural impatience, but this week I’ve done a couple of small samples (also useful as I haven’t had much time). The first was a small piece of flat felt using wool from my fleece. It does felt, although quite lightly, and it takes a long time; even after fulling, it feels quite spongy and stretchy.

I like the effect – I think I might mix it with some merino to help speed up felting and provide extra texture.

The other sample was a another experiment with honeycomb felt, this time in a small 3D pot. I thought this would be quite difficult to felt, because I make pots around a flat resist, and there would be a layer of marbles on each side of the resist.

It was difficult keeping the marbles in position at the beginning, so in the end I went for the “random honeycomb” effect and  let them move where they wanted. But the actual felting was remarkably quick – maybe the marbles inside the felt acted like the glass washboard I use for fulling, providing extra friction and speeding up the felting?

I also like holding it up and seeing how the light comes through the thinner layer of yellow felt.

5 thoughts on “Felt samples”

  1. Interesting post Kim, I like the way the light is shining through the yellow in your vessel! Have you considered using ovals of plastic instead of marbles for your resist??? This is what I use to create a ‘crater’ effect in bags and vessels. You just need to work the openings with your fingers when you remove the plastic but I think it might be easier to felt with than the marbles for these pieces, just a thought!

    1. Nicola – I used flat plastic oval resists when making my manly scarves in nuno felt, but they obviously didn’t create a “crater effect” when I removed them, because they were flat. So that’s why I used marbles for this. How do you create craters with a flat resist – wouldn’t the “loose” felt above the resist just lie flat when you remove the resist?

  2. Hi Kim, I love the craters in the vessel. I’m putting my furoshiki bags into the exhibition, so I hope you are putting in some of these great felt pieces.

    1. Avril – look forward to seeing your fuoshiki bags! The intermediate and advanced textile workshops have their own exhibition in July, so apparently we’re not allowed to include work in Made in Morley…

Leave a Reply

