Frosty the snowman

Back to Morley College today – and time to start thinking about exhibition ideas.

I have a couple of ideas, based around the work I’ve been doing on textures in 3D felt and shells – but I need to hone them down more and focus. I won’t add any more at this stage – just show you what I worked on today.

The first was intended to be a gourd shape, though it looks more like Frosty the snowman! You can’t tell very easily from the picture, but the top  sphere is smaller than the bottom sphere.  The “waist” needs to be more elongated – so I’m going to try using a single resist next time (this was made with two different circular resists felted together).

The second was a small velvet nuno pot. I used the same technique as for the silk nuno pot – but should have used blue wool, as the white coming through is a bit intrusive. But it’s the first time I’ve successfully managed to felt with velvet, so two cheers for that at least!

Now I’m off to Italy for a few days – hopefully for some warmer weather and good food! Ciao bellas – see you all in a week or so!

2 thoughts on “Frosty the snowman”

  1. Don’t know if you’ll remember me, but we spoke on Brixton Market last Saturday. Love your dragonfly shibori and I’m inspired at your nuno with velvet.

    hope it was a good holiday.
    Judith

  2. Judith – are you the lady from North Yorkshire with the felt bag? If so I do remember you! Are you doing the online shibori course as well? Your handle is familiar – I’m sure I’ve seen you somewhere before.

    PS Still on holiday – just discovered WiFi in my hotel!

Leave a Reply

