Versatile Blogger Award

In a previous incarnation I worked for the consumer organisation Which?, first on its travel magazine and then on its main magazine. Twenty years down the line we parted company, but I retain my suspicious attitude towards various marketing techniques and awards.

So when Patrice Taylor of Knit4Profit.com posted a comment saying that she had nominated me for a Versatile Blogger Award, my antennae started twitching. Even more so when I read the rules of the award. “Nominate 15 more bloggers to receive the award” – doesn’t that sound like one of those chain letters that warns you will die if you don’t forward it NOW to 15 friends? 😉

Patrice, if you are reading this, please don’t take offence. I googled around a bit more and found that even those who, like me, were initially a bit cynical, eventually concluded that the scheme is a harmless way of showing a bit of appreciation around the blogosphere and sharing some favourite links.

However, there are also other awards that seem to have very similar rules, like One Lovely Blog Award and the Very Inspiring Blogger Award, so I’m not altogether convinced. If everyone who is nominated nominates 15 more bloggers, how long will it be till everyone has an award?

I already provide links (see right-hand column) to considerably more than 15 textile blogs that I enjoy following – consider yourselves all honorary Versatile Bloggers. In a future post I’ll think about listing non-textile blogs that I read, just to add a bit of variety, if anyone is interested.

PS Sorry if I sound like an ungrateful cynical sourpuss! Patrice – thank you very much for your nomination: it is lovely to be appreciated. 🙂 I really mean that.

3 thoughts on “Versatile Blogger Award”

  1. I took a piece of the rare cloth of Ch’i
    White silk glowing and pure as frost on snow,
    and made you a fan of harmony and joy,
    As flawlessly round as the full moon.
    -Lady Pan

    Each of you creates form from chaos and in so doing spread harmony and joy and that is manifold recognition.

Leave a Reply

