Felt bird pod

Embroidery is engrossing in its way, but it lacks the tactility and – let’s face it – manual labour required of felt making.

I don’t know why but yesterday I had a sudden urge to get felting. Maybe it was something to do with Valentine’s Day, but I thought I would try making a felt bird pod using wool packaging, as the coarse texture and bits of vegetation add to the “organic” feel.

bird pod 001 bird pod 002

The bird is the stylist’s own, as they say, but I might leave it there a little while pour encourager les autres. 😉

3 thoughts on “Felt bird pod”

  1. hello, how do you get it to remain its shape as i have tried felting aorund objects but i cant seem to get it all the way round so it creates a felted sphere, it only felts at the sides and not the bottoms so it goes all flabby

    1. Hello Francesca,

      I had a similar problem when I first started felting 3D objects.

      Then I discovered the method of felting around a flat resist, removing the resist, inserting a balloon or other object and doing the final fulling and shaping around that. It makes a big difference – much firmer felt!

      Obviously you need to be able to remove the object easily, which is why a balloon is ideal as you just burst it when the felt is dry. But I’ve also used bottles and other objects – give it a go!

Leave a Reply

