Felt and kantha

I love the results of my kantha stitching experiments, but it’s quite hard on the fingers stitching through four layers of fabric. So I thought I’d see if I could produce similar results on something softer, like felt.

I stitched a couple of circles made out of prefelt, and then felted these onto a piece of flat felt along with two plain unstitched circles of prefelt. After felting, I stitched the two plain circles. This let me compare the results of stitching before and after felting.

kantha prefeltkantha felt sample

As you can see, the prefelt circles that were stitched before felting flattened out and distorted during the felting process, and the thread started to hang loose in places because the felt shrank. The circles that were stitched after felting were much more distinct.

Circle stitched before felting
Circle stitched before felting
Circle stitched after felting
Circle stitched after felting

So I felted some grey prefelt onto a piece of silk crinkle chiffon to make a sample nuno felt scarf. As I hope you can see, the ruched texture caused by the felt shrinking onto the silk is enhanced by the stitching afterwards. I call it my limpet scarf!

kantha felt scarfkantha felt scarf detail

It’s a lot of stitching, but at least it’s easier on the fingers. 🙂

15 thoughts on “Felt and kantha”

  1. I love the scarf. i tried some samples of kantha on felt and too found that stitching afterward gave better results. Isn’t it just wonderful to stitch through felt?? 🙂

  2. Hi Kim, I LOVE the limpets and it would be great to see you wearing the scarf. I spent a blissful two hours at the Brunei Gallery last night. What a fantastic exhibition. The contemporary silk embroidery just made me gasp.

    1. Avril – so glad you got to the WEFT exhibition. The silk embroidery was amazing, wasn’t it, especially the lotus pond. Less sure about the cat. 😉

Leave a Reply

