Felting with paper and synthetics

Almost exactly two years ago I attended a short course at Morley College on bonding paper and fabric. I found the technique really interesting but wasn’t really sure where to take it next – the tutor had turned most of her examples into hangings.

Then over on the Felting and Fiber Studio site I read a post by Ruth Lane about the very same technique, in which she wondered about using the results in nuno felting. D’oh! As soon as I read it, it seemed obvious.

Although the fabric is polyester organza (silk is a bit delicate for this technique), it’s very open weave, so there’s no reason why it shouldn’t felt. I haven’t really done much experimenting with nuno felt, so this seemed like a great opportunity. Plus it would give me a break from the scarf production line.

I dug out a small sample I made using Chinese joss paper.

laminate before felting

It was great to be felting again – I didn’t realise how much I’ve missed it. The result was very interesting.

laminate after felting

As you can see, the polyester felted beautifully, contrasting with the area of laminated paper, which prevented the wool from penetrating the fabric. It’s similar to how I made my manly scarves using plastic oval resists – except I don’t need to remove the resists.

It could be interesting to add extra texture to the laminated area using stitch, and also to experiment with designs that include smaller areas of laminated paper. Thanks Ruth for the inspiration! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Felting with paper and synthetics”

  1. You are most welcome. I am so glad it worked and it looks really cool. I am planning on trying mine today. I like how the design sits on top of the felt. So many times when trying to add design to felt, it just sinks down in. Can’t wait to see how my samples turn out!

  2. I would love to learn this technique but cannot find any current online instructions or reference. Are you planning on offering this class again?

    1. Hello Sandra,

      I attended this workshop as a student, not a teacher. But there is an account of fabric paper lamination here: https://feltingandfiberstudio.com/2013/11/09/fabric-paper-lamination/

      Ruth Lane, who wrote the post, has also run online courses on nuno felting with fabric paper lamination, eg https://feltingandfiberstudio.com/2016/04/03/nuno-felting-with-paper-fabric-lamination-online-class-begins-april-29th/. I can’t see any more courses scheduled but you might like to contact her and find out.

      Kim

Leave a Reply

