Green cellular pot

A hasty post before I head off to Italy for a skiing break.

I wasn’t expecting to be able to do any more felting before I went away, but someone who’d booked a felting session at the weekend cancelled, so as I’d set everything out anyway I thought I might as well take advantage!

I managed to create a vessel using a different methodology from the previous structure, involving less bulk and better felting. The outside is Norwegian wool, the rest is merino.

green cellular pot1 green cellular pot2 green cellular pot3

 
After felting I thought at first I should have included more ribs to add more texture, as the gaps between them seem quite large. But I like the pentagonal shape that you see when looking down on it from above, so maybe it’s OK.

Back in a couple of weeks, hopefully all limbs intact! 🙂

8 thoughts on “Green cellular pot”

  1. I know this is months later, but I just saw this vessel.. What is this technique called when you cut through the layers. I have made a number of vessels and a lot of nuno felted clothing, but would love to learn how to do this. I am in Long Beach, California. thanks. Great blog!

    1. Thanks for stopping by Antinette. I’m not sure if there’s an official name for this technique, but I’ve heard it called cellular felt. I was inspired by seeing samples of work by Charlotte Sehmisch, a German felter. She does teach workshops, though I’ve never taken one with her – one of my ambitions in the next couple of years!

      1. Thanks so much for your reply. I will see if I can find some articles on cellular felt. Oh, I see I misspelled my own name! It is Antoinette. I’ll fix it. I was going to send a few pics of my pieces but not sure if I can insert them in this reply??

      2. Sorry, no Facebook anymore. I may join up again. Though I am not actually as in the dark ages it seems.
        Have a look at my friend’s blog. She is a master nuno felter. Her pieces are gorgeous and she has workshops all over the US. Here is my email. lbeachartist@mac.com. I could email some pics to you. I just thought it would be fun to share what we are doing. Here is my friend’s blog. http://www.studio907.com She taught me all about felting.

      3. Thanks very much for the link to Beth’s blog – very interesting!

        My email contact details are on the About page – look forward to seeing your work!

Leave a Reply

