Felt vessels in Homes & Gardens magazine

homes and gardens coverIn late November, about a week before my exhibition with Women of the Cloth at Sprout was about to start, I had an unexpected email. It was from a researcher for Homes & Gardens magazine, who had followed a link from my Etsy shop to this blog and wanted to know if she could borrow my indigo felt vessels for a photo shoot for the magazine.

As you can imagine, I was hugely excited. There was only one problem: I’d sold all the vessels except the largest one! The researcher politely asked if I could make some more – to be picked up on 9 December, in the middle of the Sprout exhibition. Aaaargh!

Taking a deep breath, I said of course I could do it – and spent whatever time I wasn’t in the gallery over the next two weeks making some more. They were duly picked up and returned a week later, and I promptly forgot about them. Also I didn’t want to get too excited because I know that things often get dropped from magazines if there’s more advertising than expected, or not enough advertising, or all sorts of other reasons.

So it was it was a lovely surprise to open the April issue of Homes & Gardens to find my vessels included in a piece about decorating with wool. They used only the two largest vessels, but I thought they looked fantastic in the room, styled by Sally Conran.

homes and gardens spreadhomes and gardens close

I’m so pleased I decided to make new vessels for the shoot, even though it nearly killed me at the time! 🙂

14 thoughts on “Felt vessels in Homes & Gardens magazine”

    1. Thanks Ruth! They didn’t mention my Etsy shop, though there is a link to it from this blog. However, I don’t actually have any felt vessels on Etsy at the moment!

  1. That is really good not just for you but for fibre artists and decorative artists. Well done. And they are really beautiful. That’s very inspiring. And they deserved it.

Leave a Reply

