Shibori rust dyeing pt 2

To give you a break from yet another eco printing experiment, I thought I’d share another shibori rust-dyed scarf with you.

rust onion scarf6

This scarf is made of a double layer of heavier silk (it’s actually a man’s evening scarf), so I thought it would be more robust than the very lightweight silk ponge scarf that I used last time.

I bound it with rusty screws, slightly more loosely than last time. Because the silk was thicker and double layered, the rust colour didn’t spread as far or as fast as last time. By the time I had finished binding the screws on the silk ponge, the scarf was already a rusty colour all over, whereas with this scarf there were only faint traces of colour.

I was also concerned that although there would be good colour on the side of the silk that touched the screws, the other side of the scarf would be too pale.

So after binding it I put the scarf into the pot containing the onion skins left over from dyeing the eggs, heated it up and left it for a few hours. Then I removed it and left it to cool overnight.

When I untied the scarf the next day, it looked very dark at first.

rust onion scarf1

But as it dried it became paler, and there was an obvious difference between the two sides of the scarf.

After drying, ironing, soaking in bicarbonate of soda, rinsing, drying, and ironing again, this was the final result.

rust onion scarf2 rust onion scarf3

You can that the presence of the iron screws darkened the colour quite significantly – it’s much less golden than the eggs were.

And the kumo shibori pattern on the side of the scarf that was in contact with the screws is paler with darker rust marks compared with the other side.

rust onion scarf4 rust onion scarf5

Which side do you prefer? I’m not sure. But I have a reversible rust-dyed scarf with no holes, so that’s a result. 😉

rust onion scarf7

7 thoughts on “Shibori rust dyeing pt 2”

  1. What a fascinating result! How would you describe the colour? Is it a sort of medium iron gray? The scarf is beautiful, and the picture looks like an antique photo–gorgeous silvery tones touched up with a little rust colour.

      1. Kim, another lovely outcome. You must be having fun experimenting! I have a sack of onions skins waiting to be used – I’d like to dye wool with them, so will look up mordants and have a go. Am going to make a summer top using one of the pieces of linen I dyed last summer using pole-wrapping technique and procion dyes. Then I’m going to attach some embellishments to the yoke using Indian applique techniques. I did both of those things at workshops last summer down in Dorset with Tiggy Rawling. I just need one more ingredient -TIME!

  2. Carol – you don’t actually need a mordant with onion skins, so it might be worth trying without. Look forward to seeing your top – sounds lovely! 🙂

Leave a Reply

