Ombre indigo-dyed nuno felt

It’s been a busy couple of weeks – I’ve been trying to build up my stock of indigo-dyed scarves for Christmas, and also preparing for the big Makerhood event Making Uncovered, where I was showing people how to dye eggs with onion skins.

While I had the indigo vat out I did some ombre dyeing (dip dyeing) with unbleached cotton muslin, with the vague idea that I might felt with it. A couple of years ago I made a lot of indigo nuno-felted vessels, but this time I wanted to try something different.

So I made a simple flat panel or hanging, incorporating some flat beach pebbles. The bottom layers were made using white merino batting from World of Wool, which has just started stocking wool batts, though their merino is 23 micron compared with Norwegian Wool‘s 21 micron (short fibre merino).  It does make laying out so much quicker!

blue stones 1 blue stones 2 blue stones 4

Even ESP liked this, which is saying something given that a) he’s usually pretty sniffy about my felt and b) he always moans about having to lug home all the pebbles and shells I pick up on beaches when on holiday. Result! 😉

10 thoughts on “Ombre indigo-dyed nuno felt”

  1. This is really beautiful. May I ask: how do you get the crisp edges of color in the middle, top, and bottom? Do you use a resist? I am new to dying and quickly falling in love with it! Thanks in advance.

    1. I’m not really sure what you mean about the edges of colour in the middle, bottom and top!

      The central panel (the bit with the stones) has no fabric over it – it’s just felt. The indigo ombre-dyed fabric is just on the two outer panels – you can see the edges of the fabric in the middle photo.

      1. Oh, I see… Looks like I hadn’t read your post carefully enough to see that you incorporated dyed muslin into your felt. (I was assuming you were dying the felt, rather than other fabric.)

Leave a Reply

