African pod vessels, nuno felt, and more scarves

Apologies for the silence since Lambeth Open. We seemed to get fewer visitors this year, but I sold several scarves and we had some nice comments about our work.

At the last minute I made a companion piece to go with my pebble hanging. This used up some of the very first arashi shibori samples I made when I was new to indigo dyeing. I think I shall call the hangings Water I and Water II. 🙂

waterII waterII2

I picked up an unusual African seed pod at a table top sale. The seller wasn’t able to tell me exactly which species of plant it came from, but the texture was irresistible, inspiring me to make a felt vessel.

african pod vessel

I also made one with larger openings, cutting away the felt above the resist, but I think I prefer the closed version.

african pod vessels

Carol, one of my sister Women of the Cloth, attended a workshop on nuno felting with Inge Bauer over the summer, and came back with some very impressive scarves, bags, cowls and fingerless gloves.

This inspired me to have another go at nuno myself, using a silk scarf that wasn’t suitable for overdyeing with shibori. I found it very satisfying, so I might make a few more for some of the Christmas sales I’m doing.

orange nuno cowl

Finally, of course, the indigo dyeing goes on – here’s another batch of shibori bits and pieces drying on the line. A couple of the scarves are already in my Etsy shop – more to come!

scarves oct14

7 thoughts on “African pod vessels, nuno felt, and more scarves”

  1. I wish I knew what your seed pod is – I have one too ! I collected mine in Spain a few years ago!
    Does anyone know??

  2. The seed pod is from a bankia bush I have seen them in Australia my daughter lives there they are lovely shapes,named I suppose after Joseoh Banks.love the pot.

  3. Hi

    Thanks for your blog.

    I am wondering if you are sure about that seed pod being from Africa. I am from Australia and it looks very very similar to a Banksia cone to me.

    Regards Kerri

    1. Hi Kerri,

      The person I bought it from said it was from Africa, but someone else on the blog has identified it as a banksia seed, so I think that confirms it!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Kim

Leave a Reply

