Christmas sales and pufferfish

Whew! Just catching my breath after a busy weekend at Camberwell Arts Open Studios, followed by setting up for 10 days at Sprout Community Arts with Women of the Cloth. If I attempt to do two back-to-back events next year, just point me back to this post. 🙂

But I had a lovely time in Camberwell. I was in the gorgeous house of Gabriela Szulman with five other designer-makers, two of whom I hadn’t met before. There was a great mix of beautiful items: Gabriela’s nostalgic jewellery and scarves, Archie Mac’s psychedelic cushions and bags, Cecile Jeffrey’s elegant knitwear, Monica Boxley’s funky silver jewellery and bags, and Sarah Hamilton’s mid-century prints, trays and mugs.

just a card
Sarah has just launched her “Just a card” campaign, to encourage people to buy from designers, makers and independent shops and galleries. The name of the campaign comes from a quote from a gallery owner who had recently closed down: “If everyone who’d complimented our beautiful gallery had bought just a card we’d still be open.”

The campaign has the support of Mollie Makes magazine and the Design Trust – you can help spread the word by downloading posters and flyers here, adding a button to your blog or website, and sharing via Facebook and Twitter. So do your bit! 🙂

I also had the lovely experience of meeting in person for the first time someone who has been an internet friend. Hilary writes the Living to Work – Working to Live blog, and she was one of the first people to start reading and commenting on my blog around three years ago. We have been communicating via blog comments ever since, and I’ve followed with interest her experiments in quilting and mixed media.

But this is the first time we’ve met in person, and it was just like meeting an old friend. We sat on the sofa and chatted about textiles, family and mutual friends as if we’d known each other for years. What a wonderful thing is this interweb thingy! 🙂

After packing up on Sunday evening it was repacking on Monday morning to set up at Sprout with Women of the Cloth. With eight guest artists this year, the space felt rather crowded and chaotic when setting up, but it all came together for the private view on Monday evening.

Private view at Sprout
Private view at Sprout

The sale runs until 10 December, 10am-6pm each day, and there are also several workshops.

My felted neckpieces have been surprise sellers. I only made two, as I thought they would be a bit flamboyant and not to everyone’s taste. But they’ve both sold (one at Camberwell, one at Sprout), so I’m going to try to find time to make at least one more to catch the Christmas rush!

Finally, I just have to post this – a video of a pufferfish making what looks like a karamatsu shibori pattern in the sand to attract a mate. I’ll never complain about stitching again! 😉

8 thoughts on “Christmas sales and pufferfish”

  1. The Just a Card campaign is such a good idea and well done with the success of your necklaces! That pufferfish! Thanks for showing it here – I think it’s one of the most beautiful things I ever saw; how do they do it so perfectly?!

  2. Great job on selling the neckpieces (who wouldn’t want one?). I couldn’t watch the video because it said that the uploader didn’t make it available in my country. Never saw that one before 🙂

    Good luck on the rest of your holiday season.

    1. Sorry about that Ruth. It was a clip from a BBC series by David Attenborough, so maybe they are restricting it to licence fee payers. I know that iPlayer isn’t available in the US. Such a shame you can’t see the pufferfish!

  3. Yes Kim, as a sister Woman of the Cloth I will keep an eye on your pre-Christmas sale commitments nxt year and try to keep you in check! All going well at Sprout. Your beautiful collar in autumnal colours has sold, along with some dyed scarves, I had 6 women at my shisha mirror embroidery class last night, all of whom want to come back for more plus I sold a scarf I made a couple of years ago & thought would stay put forever. Best of all our local ‘real’ Woman of the Cloth, vicar Sue, bought 6 of Christabel’s hand puppets for all of her nieces & nephews! The pleasures of shopping local & handmade 😊

Leave a Reply

