Works in progress

My stint at Sprout with Women of the Cloth is over for another year. With nine guest artists this year there was more variety than ever, and it was nice to spend time with some new faces and see new work.

The fun was tempered somewhat by a nasty chest infection/flu-like illness which struck halfway through, and which I’m still suffering from. As I’m doing the (outdoor) Herne Hill Christmas Fair tomorrow, I hope it clears up soon!

Copy of HHxmasfair_POSTER

When not serving customers I’ve been working on some pieces using the combination of needle felting and wet felting techniques I learnt from Andrea Graham. I started with some felt “diatoms”.

felt diatoms

Now I’m working on a couple of Miro-inspired figures. They’re not yet finished – one eye still in progress below.

miro wip1

And this one has still to be wet felted.

miro wip2

Finally, I’m also preparing a piece I hope to submit to an exhibition being organised by the South London Women Artists in February, on the theme “What is Urban?”. I don’t want to say too much about it at this stage – it’s literally under wraps. 🙂 Just to say that it doesn’t actually involve textiles! More about this next year.

11 dec 3

2 thoughts on “Works in progress”

  1. It was great sharing the Sprout Arts space with you and all the other textile lovers for our third year Kim. I am pleased to see some pictures here of the felt sculptures you began at Sprout and look forward to seeing the finished articles. I am planning on developing my nuno felt techniques over the Christmas break (if family get-togethers don’t take up all my time!). See you very soon!

Leave a Reply

