Death and Transition, SLWA exhibition

I mentioned in a previous post that I’ve been working on a new piece for another South London Women Artists exhibition titled Death and Transition. It’s taken an age to finish, but I’m nearly there, so here is the big reveal. 😉

D&T Poster

Rather than trying to make a great spiritual or metaphysical statement, I’ve taken a more down to earth approach. In nature, death is essentially a recycling opportunity. Along with bacteria, fungi are the main decomposers, degrading dead and rotting organic matter to inorganic molecules, which are then taken up by other organisms. Without fungi we would effectively be lost under piles of dead plant remains.

So…my piece is entitled Fungi, and consists of a felt column of felt fungi. I felted each mushroom/toadstool individually (around an hour each!), inspired by a technique I picked up at Liz Clay’s workshop. Then I attached them to a felt column about 1 metre high and felted the entire piece together.

Fungus close up

I did include lengths of covered wire in the stalks of the fungi so that I could bend them into different positions, but in the end this was not really necessary. A few stitches proved to be far more effective! 😉

At the moment the piece is still drying out – here’s a shot taken from a rather odd angle, as it’s lying over the bath to catch the drips.

fungi bath

And here is a better pic of the whole piece hanging on the washing line.

fungi clothesline

I have to deliver it to the gallery on Tuesday, so I’m hoping for good weather to continue the drying out process!

Death and Transition is at Gabriel Fine Art Gallery, Cottage 2, Old Paradise Yard, 20 Carlisle Lane, London SE1 7LG, from 17 April to 1 May 2015. The private view is on Friday 17 April, 6.30-9.30pm – everyone welcome!

6 thoughts on “Death and Transition, SLWA exhibition”

    1. Thanks Ruth! I made a loop at the top and was going to suspend it with monofilament. Then my friend Magdalen brought round a branch and suggested I hang it from the ceiling and loop the piece over the branch instead. This is why she always comes to the gallery with me to help me hang! 😉

      I will definitely try to get a photo of the fungus when it’s installed in the gallery!

  1. A great piece Kim! Something that supports the physical process of dying rather than comments on it.
    Look forward to seeing it ‘in the flesh’ but hope you make a sale!

    1. Thanks Joan. Such a shame you were unable to take part yourself, but of course you have other priorities at the moment! Love to all, especially Keso. x

Leave a Reply

