Hanging and private views

I was slightly worried about hanging the fungus, because I didn’t know the gallery or space. I was even more worried when I arrived at the gallery, as it’s very small and intimate, and there were to be more than 30 South London Women Artists exhibiting.

gabriel

Gabriel Fine Art is housed in a former Buddhist centre – a three-room cottage close to the site of the London Necropolis railway station from where dead bodies were transported from overcrowded London to Brookwood Cemetery in Surrey. The history is fascinating – William Blake frequented the area, and now it’s a creative hub for artists, photographers, film makers and entrepreneurs.

With the ceilings being quite low, suspending the supporting branch wasn’t as difficult as I feared, thanks to help from my friend Magdalen and one of the gallery managers Patrick O’Neill. And in the smaller space, the piece made more of an impact, so I was pleased with the result in the end.

hang 5 hang6hang plus Kim hang with kim 1

The private view last night was packed. It was lovely to see fellow felter Abigail Thomas of Felt Meets Cloth, who I met at the felt workshop in France last year.

Abigail is preparing for her own private view, as she’s having a solo exhibition called Tenter, at House Mill, Bromley-by-Bow, London E3 3DU, from 6 to 10 May. She’s also running some feltmaking workshops there.

A6 template

See here for more details about Abigail’s exhibition and her fundraising campaign.

11 thoughts on “Hanging and private views”

    1. Thank you Charlotte! I can’t take the credit for the branch – it was my friend Magdalen who came up with the idea of hanging the fungus from a branch, and then found one!

      I have to admit that I was so focused on getting the work finished, I hadn’t given much thought to how to hang it, apart from making a felted loop at the top. I’d just assumed that I’d suspend it with monofilament.

      But Magdalen is an artist and set designer, so she always considers “the big picture”. I’m very lucky to have her as an adviser! 🙂

  1. Oh yes! I’m learning a lot from that accumulated knowledge that’s available on Dyeing Forum, thanks to ‘seniors’ like yourself. LOL.
    I still have so many questions though. Miles to go before I sleep … but I’m enjoying every minute of it!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

