Seashells revisited

Two of my favourite books are Art Forms in Nature: Prints of Ernst Haeckel and Albertus Seba: Cabinet of Natural Curiosities.

haeckel and seba

I could spend hours leafing through the intricately precise illustrations of natural specimens, marvelling at the wonderful natural geometry. They are a fantastic source of inspiration.

haeckel2seba2

Earlier this week I was looking at the plates of shells in the Seba book and was reminded of my last attempt to make felt shells. Three years later, with much more felting experience under my belt, I had a eureka moment about another way to tackle this.

My first attempt didn’t go too badly, but the proportions weren’t quite right.

felt shell

So I extended the resist at one end, and also added some silk decoration on the outside.

felt shells

You can’t hear the sea when you hold it to your ear, but the view inside is rather lovely. 🙂

felt shell interior

8 thoughts on “Seashells revisited”

Leave a Reply

