Review of 2015

Those good folk at WordPress, where this blog is hosted, thoughtfully send an annual summary with details of how many views I’ve had, where visitors come from, top posts and so on.

I’m happy to say that the number of views and visitors continues to increase every year, with the largest proportion coming from the US.

However, this year, for the first time, my top five posts were all from previous years:

Does this mean I’ve peaked? Looks like my greatest hits are all in the past – or, as WordPress kindly puts it, “Your writing has staying power!”

So it looks as if I’m going to have to do my own 2015 review. 😉

The year started on a high with a mud resist printing and indigo dyeing workshop in Jaipur, India. It was fascinating to see a full scale indigo vat and experience natural dyeing with pomegranate and myrobolam for the first time.

first dip2

Natural dyeing and indigo also featured in the ecoprinting workshop with Irit Dulman in May, after months of fairly unsuccessful experimenting by myself!

The dye station
The dye station

Other workshops were fascinating and varied, from couture felt with Liz Clay and basketry with Mary Crabb to shoe decoupagefish rubbing and book binding!

I also took part in my first exhibitions as a member of South London Women Artists. In January, for What is Urban?, I submitted a set of paving stones printed with leaves.

Kim Winter 4-1000px

Then in April I made a large (for me) felted fungi piece for the exhibition Death and Transition – this was considerably lighter than the paving stones!

Felted fungi
Felted fungi

My other felt work experimented with combining hard and soft, incorporating stones and shells.

hard soft 4

And with my ecoprinting I took the same upcycling approach I use for my indigo shibori, buying scarves and garments from charity shops and auctions and overprinting / dyeing.

ecoprinted garments

Sometimes I even managed to combine felting and ecoprinting!

My favourite exhibitions of the year were Barbara Hepworth at Tate Britain, Alexander Calder at Tate Modern, bark cloth at the British Museum, and of course The Fabric of India at the V&A, which is on until 10 January, so you can still catch it.

Which brings us back to India, where we started.

I wish you all a happy and creative 2016!

2 thoughts on “Review of 2015”

Leave a Reply

