Sneak preview of ecoprinting project

I’m currently working on a very special ecoprinting project, the details of which I can’t reveal yet.

But it’s meant I’ve been spending time experimenting and sampling, and I can’t resist showing you some of the results. I’m particularly pleased with some of the prints given by garden weeds, most of which I never knew the name of. I now have to stop ESP from weeding the garden! 😉

The photos below include rose and cotinus leaves as unifying elements, each combined with a different plant.

rose cotinus and rosebay willow
Rose and cotinus leaves with garden weed
Dock flowers
Rose and cotinus leaves with dock flowers
Sycamore seeds
Sycamore seeds
Cranesbill leaves
Cranesbill leaves

The sampling has led to some other new discoveries, like this vibrant green print from Robinia pseudoacacia.

robinia pseudoacacia

The colour didn’t really fit in with the project, but I’ve used the leaves with sycamore seeds and dock flowers on a scarf now in my Etsy shop.

ecoprint-robbinia-sycamore-2 ecoprint-robbinia-sycamore-3

And here are some other samples that I won’t be using in this project but may use in future.

Pelargonium flowers
Pelargonium flowers
Fig leaf
Fig leaf
ecoprint heuchera
Heuchera leaf
8 thoughts on “Sneak preview of ecoprinting project”

  1. These are some of the best results I’ve seen from Eco dyeing, the clarity you’ve achieved is incredible! I would love to know how you did them and look forward to the big reveal when you tell us out about your secret project.

  2. Many thanks for all your kind comments.

    The method, for those who are interested, is very straightforward: silk, leaves, iron blanket, steamed for two hours, opened immediately.

    But there are so many variables – type of water, fresh or dried leaves, time of year the leaves are picked and so on. What works for me may not work for you.

    The magic ingredient is the time and patience to keep experimenting with whatever you have locally to see what works. 🙂

Leave a Reply

