Return from Mexico

Brrrr – I’m back!

Actually I returned from Mexico last week but was shocked into hibernation mode by the simultaneous sudden drop in temperature and need to gear up for Christmas markets on both days last weekend.

To be honest I was also a bit overwhelmed by the whole trip. The International Shibori Symposium was extremely intense, with workshops, talks and presentations. I learnt an incredible amount and met some very interesting people.

And my holiday was also pretty busy, with more fantastic textiles, markets and extraordinary pre-Hispanic cultural sites to fit in.

So there will be several posts about Mexico to come over the next few months.

In the meantime, while I catch my breath, here are some images of a dead leaf – what else? – that I found on a tour of the wonderful Ethnobotanic Gardens in Oaxaca.

mexico-dead-leaf-1 mexico-dead-leaf-2 mexico-dead-leaf-3 mexico-dead-leaf-4 mexico-dead-leaf-5 mexico-dead-leaf-6 mexico-dead-leaf-7

I almost couldn’t bear to leave it behind, but I knew that even if it somehow miraculously survived the trip back to the UK, it was illegal to import it in case of disease.

So I took loads of photos instead – a piece of natural shibori. 🙂

8 thoughts on “Return from Mexico”

    1. It’s the same leaf photographed from different angles. There were other leaves too, but this was the one that caught my eye because of the way it had curled and spiralled in on itself.

Leave a Reply

