Spring flowers

The online workshop with Pam de Groot continues – I’ll post an update on this later.

In the meantime, partly inspired by the Josef Frank exhibition, I’ve become a bit obsessed with making felt flowers. As you may know if you’ve followed me for a while, my colour palette is normally quite subdued (and usually involves a lot of blue 🙂 ) but the flowers have really allowed me to take advantage of all the brightly coloured fleece in my stash!

felt-corsages

I’m hoping to have a good selection of these corsages to brighten my stand at the Contemporary Textiles Fair in Teddington later this month.

I’ve also been continuing my work with dress net, exploring other forms. Coincidentally, one of these also happens to be a flower.

net-flower-1

The next step is to make enough of these to create a ball! Two down, 10 to go. 🙂

net-flower-2

8 thoughts on “Spring flowers”

  1. Flowers colors are terrific – a reminder of Summer! I look forward to seeing the net flower ball.

    1. Thanks Marilyn – the evenings here are certainly getting lighter, and we have frogspawn in the pond, so it seems like winter is coming to an end at last.

    1. Now then Terri – you’re beginning to sound like ESP! 😉

      I don’t know yet what I will do with a net flower ball, but I’m exploring lots of geometric modular origami structures made with net because I enjoy the delicate transparency they have compared with the more solid paper structures. Hopefully I will think of something to do with them when I’ve finished. 🙂

Leave a Reply

