Contemporary Textiles Fair review

Phew! I’ve just about recovered from a very busy and successful Contemporary Textiles Fair at the Landmark Centre in Teddington at the weekend.

Image: Contemporary Textiles Fair

The private view on Friday evening was one of the busiest I’ve ever experienced, and with more than 60 exhibitors there was plenty to see.

Image: Contemporary Textiles Fair

The organisation was superb, and everyone was really helpful, especially the unflappable guy in the car park scrum at the end!

The felt corsages I’ve been making certainly brightened up my stand.

And a couple of pieces I recently ecoprinted with onion skins were the first to sell.

ecoprint scarf with onion skins

I didn’t have much time to have a good look at the other stands, but some near me are worth a mention.

Sarah Grove makes lovely porcelain pieces from plaster casts of stitched, stuffed and upholstered textiles. I couldn’t resist this jug, which reminds me of the pleated shibori pieces I make.

jug by sarah grove

I also signed up to No Serial Number, a quarterly magazine about eco-conscious and heritage craft, design and lifestyle.

I also liked the work of artist Rachel Pearcey, who had the stand next to me. Her drawings in black thread are very meditative.

Image: Rachel Pearcey

All in all, a great weekend – roll on next year! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Contemporary Textiles Fair review”

  1. It looks like it was a great show. Your stand looked lovely and inviting. I’m glad you had some success. There were certainly a variety of arts represented. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

