Spiral and Twistie with Pam de Groot

I realised at the weekend that I hadn’t written up the rest of the Pam de Groot online workshop on texture and dimensions.

For obvious reasons I’m not going to give details of how the Spiral and the Twistie were made. But I will say that I found both methods extremely innovative, and Pam is to be applauded for her ambition in trying to teach them through an online workshop.

Unlike face to face workshops, the tutor can’t advise during the making process that, for example, you need to lay out the fibre more finely. She can only judge from the finished piece, and Pam was very good at doing that.

Here’s my first Spiral, made using one colour. The curvaceous bottom led to it being named a Beyoncé spiral!

Then I had a go at a double ended version, with a colour change.

The final piece was the Twistie, and I had few problems with the structural support for this. I also probably laid out the fibre too thickly. Like the Spiral, it relies on a lot of shrinkage, so I might have another go at this on a smaller scale.

 

12 thoughts on “Spiral and Twistie with Pam de Groot”

  1. You’ve done well, I did these in a face to face workshop with Pam, and it wasn’t dead easy then either! They’re wonderful shapes to play with.

  2. Beautiful results! I’d love to take one of her classes. Did you make the twistie with a heavier fiber? It looks a bit hairy. But still looks good to me!

      1. I don’t know what her process is, but assume at some point there was hot water involved. Every instructor is different, obviously so is every fiber. 🙂

  3. Your blog is fabulous and I love all the creative and random things you do with felt. Thanks to you, I have just done Pam’s online workshop too. Even though I live in Australia, I hadn’t heard about it till seeing your post. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

