SLWA My Place exhibition

I’m very excited to be taking part in the My Place exhibition organised by the South London Women Artists. The work of 30 artists will be on show, each exploring their sense of place and belonging.

My piece combines ombre-dyed cotton scrim and felt, because my place – where I feel most at home – is by the indigo vat.

ombre dyed felt

The colour indigo is traditionally thought to stimulate right brain or creative activity, but for me it is more of a meditative experience, disrupting the coppery sheen of the surface as I dip the fabric, and watching the magical alchemy as it turns from green to blue before my eyes. The white clouds in the sky above are mirrored by the clumps of foam, or indigo “flower”, floating on the surface of the vat.

My Place runs from 7 to 12 July at Brixton East 1871, 100 Barrington Road, London SW9 7JF, 11am-6pm daily.

The private view is on Friday 7 July, 6-9pm – everyone welcome!

5 thoughts on “SLWA My Place exhibition”

  1. I need to knuckle down into that now. Make sure all are ready for hanging, tape up
    Backs of frames, add cords hooks , make sure all work is named. I need to make labels for
    Display purposes and price or should I say underprice so they will move. I will advertise
    And maybe get a few posters out. Making the labels , writing a little blurb and doing the
    poster will be challenging I get so stressed by computers.
    Have you eaten all the cakes? How is the fish. .?
    Flo

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

